Yaveh Shamma {haiti // day 4}

Once again, words cannot express our day at the Yaveh Shamma Orphange …

First off, I’ve never been to an orphanage. So in my mind, I expected little orphan Annie and friends {minus the “it’s a hard knock life” song}. Truth is, I had NO idea what I was in for.

Walking in the gate, the children bombarded us with hugs, kisses and pure love. The affection and boldness these children had to {complete strangers} was something I’ve never ever experienced before. Their openness was so refreshing, making it even easier to fall in love with them.

I’ve finally mastered how to say “what’s your name” in creole … como rele … so that’s ALL I asked the kids ALL day long! We walked with linked arms, at least 3 kids to each one of us, down the hill and past the new school construction site.

We spent the day with them, handing out dolls that a Raleigh, NC high school textile class made for all the kids, playing soccer and jump rope, coloring, braiding hair, singing, etc.

These kids were NOTHING like little orphan Annie. They were happy, confident and most of all healthy. God has provided FULL sponsorship for all of the Yaveh Shamma kids and Pastor Gaetan is truly a servant, Shepard and father to these kids.

We sat down with Pastor Gaetan and heard his story, how the earthquake affected him and the kids, and his plans for the future. Right now there are about 30 kids living and going to school there, and he hopes to eventually house and care for up to 60 orphans.

He is truly a servant of God, and the most touching part was kneeling down and praying over him. It was so powerful and I can’t wait to see how God uses him more.

Tomorrow is our day of rest, but I’ll probably post more on meeting my sponsored boy. Here are some pics from today …

Current school classrooms
20130421-004104.jpg
Building for new school
20130421-004142.jpg
Beautiful artwork from Samantha
20130421-004230.jpg
Children receiving their dolls
20130421-004305.jpg20130421-004352.jpg20130421-004409.jpg
Brooke, Jhon, Markens, me, Yvens and Jay – our translator team
20130421-004500.jpg

One thought on “Yaveh Shamma {haiti // day 4}

Leave a comment